Strolling Amok

Pops goes on tour.

Day Nine, Sandwich Illinois

Now THIS is Illinois, Land of the Shock Absorber. Flat, with disintegrating pavement. Home.

Now THIS is Illinois, Land of the Shock Absorber. Flat, with disintegrating pavement. Home.

It was a mere three-hour drive today to complete the last bit of the journey, including about forty miles on rural farm roads. Lo, I’m at the Sandwich Fairgrounds, just outside the fenced area. For $90/week, you get unmetered 30-amp power, city water hookup, and access to an onsite dump station and dumpster. Too bad the Defiant’s greywater tank meter has gone rogue. It reads as empty no matter what. So, when refilling the trailer’s fresh water tank manually, the greywater tank needs to be dumped every second refill. With a direct hookup to a fresh water hose, the only way to know when it’s time to transfer greywater to the Tankmin is when the bathtub backs up from its drain. It may not be blackwater, but it still smells.

There are a hell of a lot of wind generators west of Sandwich.

There are a hell of a lot of wind generators west of Sandwich.

Still, I’m anticipating a great stay here for a couple of months, mainly because the traditional Illinois summer heat and humidity can be at least tempered by running the air conditioner for as long as it will run. Couldn’t do that last summer, because I was paying commercial rates on metered power that averaged $60 a month when running the air just two days a month. And that was on top of a $440/month fee. There’s no WiFi or anything like amenities here, but then you’re not paying for them.

There was a large subgroup of twenty or thirty wind generators that were turned off as a group, not here and there. Makes you wonder what the story is.

There was a large subgroup of twenty or thirty wind generators that were turned off as a group, not here and there. Makes you wonder what the story is.

I like to be comfortable, so I think I’ll like it here. I’m considering deploying the solar panels anyway, just to get them out of the Defiant’s interior. I could also rent a nearby storage space, I suppose, but two of the battery banks need recharging, and the panels are a heap faster than the 8-amp plug-in charger. The only real block to deployment is the potential for high winds here, which is a real risk when storms move through. That’s a decision for tomorrow.

A typical Illinois farm.

A typical Illinois farm.

One detail is that I was able to deploy the three-filter water filtration unit on the incoming freshwater hose, something that doesn’t get used much because these trips to my home area are once a year and brief.

A typical Illinois camper. There are three other units here, and that's all there's likely to be until the carnies smash their way in to run the annual county fair. I should be gone by then, but I wouldn't be able to stay here.

A typical Illinois camper. There are three other units here, and that’s all there’s likely to be until the carnies smash their way in to run the annual county fair. I should be gone by then, but I wouldn’t be able to stay here.

The posts from here on will be less frequent, fortunately for you and I. There’s story material around here, but I’m here for unrelated tasks and errands that must be accomplished, not for writing. It’s a time issue. If you have subscribed, you’ll be notified automatically when there’s a fascinating and challenging new story. You’ll also be notified when there’s a boring one, as you may have discovered already.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day Nine, Sandwich Illinois

  1. Dennis on said:

    Douglas….once you are settled in perhaps we can get together for a bit. Would like to see you while you are in town.

  2. Linda Barton on said:

    wow your not far from me. Maybe 1 hour or so. I missed something are you from here?

    • You might have missed it if I never said it! I actually last lived in Woodstock, north of here. Palatine for several decades. Glen Ellyn, Bloomingdale, Skokie, you name it. I gots family here, thus the annual Great Migration. But none of those towns will let me stay for more than 3 consecutive days now, so I’m in Sandwich! 😉

  3. Linda Sand on said:

    They sometimes turn off windmills when the grid already has all the electricity it can handle. But, I’d still think twice about deploying your solar panels there.

    For the tank problem you could just continue to live off your fresh tank and fill it when needed but it sure is nice to not listen to the pump for awhile. My bath is a wet bath so I learn the grey is full when I get my feet we stepping into the bathroom to use the toilet. Yuck! At least you have a tub to warn you.

Leave a Reply! Note that all first-time comments are moderated, so there will be a delay before it will be posted.

