Strolling Amok

Pops goes on tour.

Tenter Trash Tragedy

Ah, the beauty o' Nature.

Ah, the beauty o’ Nature.

I went out for a walk a couple of days ago. (Yes, I do walk occasionally.) I went by a campsite that had until recently been occupied by a tenter for at least as long as I’ve been here. I’d seen his newish silver Dodge pickup depart and arrive a few times.

The tent.

The tent.

The trash.

The trash.

Yep, imagine my disbelief as I walked past now. I kept thinking that surely he was going to return. Who would leave an office chair, oversize buckets and cardboard strewn about? This just made no sense, and made my earlier surprise at an RV fridge being left beside a BLM dumpster seen pretty tame.

Yup, glass bottle, rags, etc left on the path going in.

Yup, glass bottle, rags, etc left on the path going in.

At least he was considerate enough to leave plenty of wood neatly stacked so the next camper to arrive could burn his trash for him.

At least he was considerate enough to leave plenty of wood neatly stacked so the next camper to arrive could burn his trash for him.

Beats me. Was he thinking that his trash was too good to throw away, so surely the next arrival would want the buckets, chair, blanket and cardboard? He figured he was donating it? I’m still trying to figure out what I can do, or this may well still be here when I return next year. This is State Trust land, and it would be less than excellent if someone got the bright idea to solve the problem permanently.

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Tenter Trash Tragedy

  1. mary barton on said:

    Wow – as usual the few are out to ruin something good for the many 😦 Sad indeed.

  2. There are four reasons why this person may have left “our” land like this:
    1. He/she is an imbecile
    2. They don’t care for our beautiful planet
    3. Mommy still cleans up after them
    4. All of the above
    Personally, I would clean everything up. Leave it better than you found it. That’s the type of person you are Douglas.

    • I may qualify for #1 or possibly #2 when Nature calls on a long trail, but wow. The issue is finding a large enough dumpster or spreading the glory among a few, where the renter would not come out screaming. They are, after all, paying for the privilege. And I will be, after all, mooching. State Trust and BLM land do not have them. But I know of a municipal campsite that has several which don’t see much action, so I may bless them. I’ll have to check into it. The other issue is sheer volume in the truck bed, but I’ll have to improvise. Thanks a pantload for volunteering me, Matt!!

  3. Florida Minimalist on said:

    Ugh I can’t stand dirty campers, no matter the reason. I would clean it up. Take the firewood too, so not to encourage the next person…or this one if he comes back

  4. Linda Sand on said:

    I’m trying to remember where you are. The last location I remember is you deciding you couldn’t ride your bike to Blythe. I know there is an official dump north of Quartzite. May be one near you?

    • You’re no alone in wondering where I am, Linda. Wickenburg, Arizona is my spot now, and I’ll soon have to scurry off to higher elevations to beat the growing heat. You reminded me that I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night groggy enough that I don’t have a clue as to where I’m parked. I usually recall eventually, but then again, I figure it’ll come to me in the morning when I look out the window. Doesn’t much matter until then, and even then it doesn’t much matter until I need to service the waste tanks!

      I might drop in at the Community Center first just to review the situation and see if I can get their official okay to deposit said items in their dumpster. I’d prefer that to Plan B.

  5. Yeah Doug, if possible, clean up behind this imbecile! Its not fair, but might keep this land open for the rest of us who do appreciate what is there. Imbecile will get a come-uppance somewhere, sometime.

    • Scott Be Out on said:

      It’s an irritating, nasty shame.
      But I am among the others cheering you on to clean up after your camping “neighbor”. My fiancee has encouraged a practice among our family, that every time we hike, we find “something” (trash) a human has left behind, and we remove it from the trail, and deliver it to a proper trash receptacle (every little bit helps). I’d bet, if you found a ranger (or some other official sort), and showed them some pics of how you found it, and how you left it, that they would find a free dumpster for you. (and who couldn’t use an extra bucket or two?) 😉

      • A nice practice, Scott. State Trust has no enforcement arm per se and rely on local authorities, so my first venture will be to Wickenburg’s Community Center, with a staff of one part-timer. She might be able to steer me on the path of enlightenment. If all else fails, I may have to test the adage “two wrongs don’t make a right,” the issue being legal and proper disposal off of a vandalized campsite in no one’s jurisdiction.

    • Looks like I’m volunteered!

  6. Ugh! And no real excuse on his part: coming and going in a truck, surely he could have tossed some of that stuff in on a trip out and found a better place for it!

    The worst campsite I ever came across was about 20 years ago. It was in Shawnee National Forest and we had been at the spot two months earlier and it was fine. When we arrived that day, there were tin cans and other food garbage and a metal bed spring frame! That wasn’t the worst of it, though. There were two rotting deer carcasses with only the antlers and big cuts of meat missing. Real disgusting stuff! We buried the deer, carted out the small trash, told the rangers about the bed (no way to carry it out ourselves) and found someplace less depressing to camp.

    • Well, considering that he had the packing space to transport it in with him, it’s not like that space disappeared and he had no choice.

      Your “worst campsite” is a record breaker. I’ll try not to think about it or the psyche behind it.

  7. Update: The nice lady at the Community Center said it’s somewhat common, though more-so for things like chemical drums where the police try to look for clues as to source. Anyway, there is a waste/recycling center that will charge only a very nominal amount or have the charge be partially offset by the steel-framed chair weight. I’ll load up tomorrow and head in.

  8. Anytime I run across campsites with suspicious buckets or containers the TV show “Breaking Bad” comes to mind. The guy coming and going a lot would also fit right into this scenario. You’d also need firewood to “cook”. I’m probably wrong.

    • Having known some naughty types (many decades ago and am thankfully not around people like that now!), if the tenter had been “cooking” on an open campfire, Doug would have *definitely* smelled it.

    • (Also, I would probably be coming and going a lot if I stayed as long as he had, because my insulin needs ice and my cooler only keeps cold for a week at a time or so. Coming and going a lot can mean a lot of things.)

    • How odd my brain is. When you mention “cook”, the campfire scene from Blazing Saddles comes to mind: “How ’bout some more beans, Mr. Taggart?” “No, I’d say you’ve had enough!”

Leave a Reply! Note that all first-time comments are moderated, so there will be a delay before it will be posted.

