Strolling Amok

Pops goes on tour.

Fer PamP

Beside one travel trailer, a railroad layout.

Beside one travel trailer, a railroad layout.

Reader PamP made the mistake of admiring the lawn ornamentation in one earlier picture, so I took my camera along for my daily walk on one overcast day. Hopefully, clicking on an image will shuttle you to a larger version. The seasonal areas of Blackhawk Valley RV Campground strike me as the bucks-down version of a cabin at the lake. In this case, it’s the RV by the Kishwaukee River. For the cost of an RV of any type (some of which are like newer versions of the Defiant) and $2,000 a year fee, these stay here all year. All are owned by locals who visit on weekends, and some of the trailers have been here for many years. These are some of the more elaborate setups in the camp. Enjoy!

IMGP1453wtmk

IMGP1454wtmk

IMGP1455wtmk

IMGP1461wtmk

IMGP1457wtmk

IMGP1456wtmk

IMGP1458wtmk

IMGP1459wtmk

IMGP1460wtmk

IMGP1461wtmk

IMGP1462wtmk

IMGP1463wtmk

IMGP1464wtmk

IMGP1465wtmk

IMGP1466wtmk

IMGP1467wtmk

IMGP1468wtmk

IMGP1469wtmk

IMGP1470wtmk

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Fer PamP

  1. Wow! Doug, you’re in a pretty fancy neighborhood. Wish I had 10% of what they’ve spent on landscaping and plants. It is much like what I see in the more expensive RV/mobile home parks in Florida.

    Your western desert-like winter home is quite different.

    I do put up a 36″ wire fence to keep my little dog from wandering and I have at least one potted plant that travels with me. But, my digs are more modest – a 20 ft Coachman – named Serenia, pulled by Maggie, my 2006 GMC. To stretch my meager SS check, I spend winters as a State Park volunteer in Florida. Don’t expect to ever pull Serenia out west as you do, so I enjoy your posts.

    • Yep, as long as the campground here approves of the plan, you can pretty much do as you like here. People like the idea of inviting little getaways to hide out in. Second homes of sorts. All of the seasonals here have decks to stay out of the soft, moist ground, but many are simple platforms. The ones in the photos are the more elaborate ones.

      There is certainly a call for volunteers, and from my understanding, they all provide a free campsite at the least. Some offer pay to boot. It can be a nice setup, and certainly helps with lowering the pernicious costs of “living the carefree life”! My cross-country ordeal begins in a few days, and you just may witness the wisdom of staying within Florida. It isn’t so much the fuel cost right now, as the cumulative effect on the tow vehicle as the miles rack up.

  2. Hey Doug that reminds me of the snowbirds in Quartzsite that permanently park their $500000 motor home. They still pay a utility bill and have to dump their black water tank when full or suffer the concrete poop problem etc. They should buy a house for less. They confuse me.

    Getting close to departure time for me. Aiming for the first of Oct. Sweet Susan will be continuing to cate for her mom in Chicago this winter so I am going to load my slide in camper on the truck instead of pulling her camper. This way I can tow my two horse trailer and bring my trailhirse Chips with me. Do you see folks boondocking with their horse?

    Bill n Sadie plus Mic

    • Not too many non-RVers know that even with full hookups, you still need to hold blackwater in its tank until its full before opening the valve. Otherwise, you get a tank full of dried out poop that can’t be cleared, and that’s never good! There’s one guy there with a business he calls “The RV Proctologist”, so apparently not all RVers know, either.

      Your plan is gutsy for a multi-season stay. I have seen equestrian boondockers around Wickenburg, since there are several horse-rig oriented sites around there. Also in Mormon Lake. They tend to be short-term. That must be very enjoyable. Good Luck with Chips!

  3. James Brown on said:

    Well I’m not PamP but I enjoyed it. A little of the pleasures of the roving RV life for us folks currently stuck on the home base. But we finally bought the rig I think is going to put us back on the road part time. She’s small, but she’s ours. Now all I need to do is rustle up some money.

    • Thanks, James. Well congratulations, I think, right? Part-time, there’s no particular advantage in going large unless you’re also working on the road and have to take along equipment, like insurance adjusters or tradesmen. Otherwise, it’s just more to tow. Travel mixed with having a house does take additional funds, that’s for sure. But you like beans and franks every day for months, right? 😉

  4. That’s for the photos.
    I was staying at a park in Rockport Texas that had a number of full time trailers that never moved, “fish camps”& there was some elaborate landscaping. The park was in that $2000 for the year range.
    One couple had a TT in Texas and another in Illinois, they commuted with the seasons.

    • I think that’s interesting. Fish camps make me think of the opportunity to take children or grandchildren out tenting and fishing for a few days. Something they would not soon forget. Matter of fact, I was surprised to see a couple from Yuma, Arizona pull in here in a motorhome a couple of months ago. They live there, and are escaping the intense heat. They stay up here each summer, and it has to be family because there are more comfortable weather choices available elsewhere. This week’s forecast here is 88-90 with unusually high humidity. Muggy! Perhaps the good news is, it will clear every skin pore on your body.

  5. This looks great. There will probably come a day I’ll land somewhere more permanent. Good luck with you journey.

  6. Linda Sand on said:

    We spent a summer in a park like that NW of Minneapolis on the Mississippi River. It was a good home base for us for a season but it let Dave realize how much he wanted to be back here permanently. Oops.

    • Well. I’ve always been a homebody myself, pleased to have some little hidey-hole to nest in. But an inability to continue that, along with a fear and loathing of more snow shoveling at ten degrees and profuse sweating at ninety, plus the reminder that there is so much to be experienced in this country, got me moving my hidey-hole around with me. There’s something about arriving and immersing oneself in a new-to-you vista, especially one out of the mainstream, that enlivens the spirit. I might be relegated to rent a room somewhere eventually, but that just underscores that these, right now, are the good old days for me and I intend to make them positively memorable. This is to me an inexpressible blessing and unexpected reward, the chance to live outside of the comfort of familiarity that I’m used to. I suppose that now, it’s the comfort of the unfamiliar. But, since we are all shaped differently by our experiences, I can certainly appreciate the desire to stick with continuity. As I recall, you yourself venture out as conditions and your health permit. That you have given each other the freedom to live as needed is no small thing, and quite rare.

Leave a Reply! Note that all first-time comments are moderated, so there will be a delay before it will be posted.

