Strolling Amok

Pops goes on tour.

Darwinian Off-Roading

There are some things that some individuals should refrain from doing, given a free choice. For example, I should not challenge others to fencing duels, enter a memorization contest, volunteer to cover for a lifeguard while he goes to take a break, or do any math that goes much beyond the plus and minus keys.

In the video above, a couple is enjoying the adventure of off-roading with their Four Wheel Hawk on what looks like a F-150 SuperCrew short bed, which likely has a wheelbase (distance between the front and back wheels) nearly as long as the Mighty Furd. For those who do not have the data reserve to spare, here’s the situation. The wife is justifiably nervous about taking the truck over a curved and uneven dirt path carved into a hillside, since the drop-off on the opposite side could easily roll the vehicle over. But, her loving husband tapes this mini-adventure, apparently no more knowledgeable than she is about why this path should have affected A] how she would steer her way through it, and B] his job while she did so. Adventure!

What happens is that the truck quickly drops a wheel off the inside edge of the curve, the embankment and camper weight tossing the truck’s rear end halfway off the trail. The truck teeters over badly, threatening to tip over. Fortunately, she was going downhill, and momentum keeps the truck sliding to the end of the embankment before it can be sucked over the edge. With the errant wheel once again supported, the truck rights and she can now pull forward and park.

What makes me uneasy about the crossing over has two prongs, the first being that neither person seemed to be aware that the front and rear tires of any vehicle do not share the same path in a turn. The tracks left by the rear wheels will always drape to the inside of those of the front wheels, and the longer the wheelbase, the more pronounced the effect. Note in the video that the uneasy driver is careful to keep the front of the truck perfectly centered, assuming that the rear will do the same. Big mistake, and the direct cause of the near-disaster. She should have planted the front end as far to the outside as she thought she could get away with, and left it there. I like to think that this was their first truck, recently acquired after driving a lifetime of small cars. Not enough time in parking lots, trying that infernal ninety-degree turn to wedge it into spaces.

The second thing that makes me uneasy is the sneaking suspicion that even today, they consider the mishap to simply be because the trail was too narrow for their truck. Might have been. Does not look like it. The only time you “go for it” in dicey conditions where damage awaits is when traction is an issue. It wasn’t, here. In this potential hazard, her videotaping spouse should have been spotting for her, dancing between the front bumper clearance to the rocks on the outside, and the location of the rear tire near the edge. Edges give way and collapse, particularly with heavier vehicles, so proximity to them is pretty important. That turned out not to be an issue here – she simply drove over the edge. That simple crossing should have taken up to a couple of minutes with his help, and quite a long while without. Turning turtle might have changed their whole day, particularly with the side window rolled down and no seat belt usage. Risk management involves more than a willingness to step on the gas pedal.

What did she do right? She first stopped, got out and looked over the situation to see just how challenging it might be. The second is that she instantly recognized that this situation was way above her familiarity level, something which should have prompted her to start asking questions about the best way to approach it, despite the desire of her husband to make a cool adventure video. Third, at the start of it, the pronounced tilt pointed out to her that she’d be busy later if she was too casual about how spill-able items were stowed in the fridge. Happily, the Darwin Effect did not have full sway in this instance, and we have a one-minute video of her, emerging intact. The truck? I don’t know. It’d be a good idea to take a quick look underneath the back half of it.

Adventure!

Adventure!

The guy above likes to work on his Toyota, which may come in handy if he keeps submerging his axles in keep water. If he’s modded for it, fine, but it’s mechanically risky to take a stock vehicle this deep. It’s notable that this is a 2WD truck with a limited-slip axle fitted, but notice also that he does not venture out alone on his weekends away from home. 2WD is one reason he’s going fast enough to create a bow wave and wake – the slower he goes, the greater the risk of getting stuck.

He could go faster if he clamped an outboard motor on the tailgate.

He could go faster if he clamped an outboard motor on the tailgate.

Two things pop into mind as wallet-bait here, the first being that the cooling fan behind the radiator makes a very poor propeller. If it isn’t up high enough, the water’s weight will instantly bend the blades forward into the radiator, stopping the show. A slight brush will spray the ignition parts with water mist, which is often a problem on older vehicles. Bring waders. Second, keeping the axle submerged trusts that the axle bearing seals are waterproof, which they aren’t. They are grease-proof and moisture-resistant. Introduce water into churning grease, and you’ll be wondering later why your truck brand seems to choose such crappy wheel bearings. Similarly, the differentials are vented to air, and hypoid gears are innately high-friction devices, saved solely by advanced lubricants. Slop some water down that vent, and you’ll wonder why your brand of truck makes such lousy differentials. The list goes on, like the transmission and transfer case, so tackling deep water in a stock vehicle is a bad idea unless it’s a hobby project and you have beaucoup money set aside just for that. This guy does.

Aside from the potential for damage, don’t be misled by the implication that it’s perfectly fine to tackle stuff in 2WD where 4WD would normally be the rule. This intrepid soul is going along with others who are equipped to extricate him, and he fully accepts that it’s a hobby which involves risk, breakage and repair. He’s gotten stuck enough times that he’s planning converting his truck to 4WD. If you live in your rig as I do, depend on its full functionality every day, have no other options and can only spend so much on it, your approach to adventure should be modified to suit. I’d love to pound some machinery through the rough stuff, but one thing’s for sure. If I ever do, it won’t be in my own machinery.

Me, I’ll be dancing a line of risk, but one lined with a dose of paranoia. Wherever I go, I’ll be running solo. That’s a risk whether I get stuck, or suffer the same type of inevitable breakdown that could just as likely occur in a library parking lot. Occasionally being out of cellphone range does not affect the initial problem, but definitely impacts the potential result. And, my only “recovery tools” will be a small shovel, a few hand tools, a pocket knife and a honed vocabulary. To partially offset these risks, I’ll be carrying my cellphone booster, keeping the Mighty Furd mechanically maintained, and approaching more interesting off-road features with a mix of conservatism and the knowledge that substantial damage or breakdown may be beyond any mortal’s ability to pay the tab to fix it. So, I’m hoping that what I post next year will be sadly lacking in gnarly-ness and memorable close scrapes. After all, the Mighty Furd will be my home, and I’m footing the tab on a fixed income. I’ll occasionally be going where 2WD in my size and weight of truck cannot reliably be taken, and enjoying that winnowing out. For me, that’s the adventure: getting and being out there, not creating YouTube moments.

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “Darwinian Off-Roading

  1. Not to put too fine a point on it, but “…and we have a one-minute video of her, emerging intact.” Not really. We have a one-minute video of HIM, emerging intact.

  2. Doug, I think he is the one doing the driving and she is the one doing the videotaping. She opted out right from the beginning

    • Oh my, just watched it again! I thought she had a mic on her, but nope, he’s driving it since she backed down! Both of you are absolutely right – don’t know why I didn’t just figure that out and go with it. He’s the middle of the roader, and she’s the steady hand on the camera. Thanks, D & Cam. Doesn’t alter the basic problem, but certainly would alter the post for accuracy. I’m going to keep it as is however, so that your comments continue to make sense and I’m demonstrated as not real observant. Duh! I think I just found the secret for generating a lot of comments, huh?

      • Well, I couldn’t exactly let everyone think the “she” was the bad driver πŸ˜„

        • You have that duty. She is the smarter of the two, especially saying, “I’m glad I walked it”, where I could easily add [“instead of riding with someone who will probably screw it up.”] I thought it heinous that he would send his wife to take the risk, at first blush. Now that he in fact stepped up and did what all men are supposed to do (confidently step in over their heads and screw things up), I find it odd that he no doubt gave her the camera and told her to go over and record his manly triumph instead of asking her to walk in front and spot him. Does he feel that bravado and confidence are more valuable than knowing when assistance is appropriate, or would he rather bluff than risk a loss of face with his wife? Did she offer to spot him, or passively do as she was told? This gets into the nature of relationships, and the original post may have been quite different. At any rate, his virtuous skill is now forever recorded as something else.

  3. “…a honed vocabulary.” Heehee! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, you see, I used to work on my own cars when I was in my twenties and thirties. I can’t make a sailor blush, but I can hold my own against most grade schoolers today.

      • Lol. BTW, thanks for the info about axles and whatnot. I used to imagine that since they are exposed to rain/slush/puddles, they must be impervious to water. Live n learn.

        • That’s a very common perception, since they do hang out in the weather full-time. But, one thorough trip through the owners manual can dispel it, at least for 4WD trucks designed for mixed use. No one that I know reads them, and they always seem to be missing in used vehicles. It has to be there new though, since it affects warranty claims if someone dunks their vehicle like the Toyota guy does.

  4. Read the manual? That’s absurd! These pickups are bulletproof and waterproof.
    Can also scale a 90 degree rock wall without getting a run at it.
    The Ford ads want you to think that too.

    • All that’s very true, but it’s not in the manuals. It’s common knowledge. They are invincible, at least until the first time you get stuck, or have to head into the shop because of a coolant leak or a blown muffler bearing. As Oliver Hardy said to Stan Laurel in the 1930s as their old car came apart and collapsed underneath them right on the pavement, “I told you not to make that last payment!” πŸ™‚

  5. That truck . . oh my! Too close a call for my comfort. May all your adventures be within acceptable parameters.

    Slightly difficult times here in the Escape Pod. I’m giving some talks in North Carolina this month, so I’m traveling down through Appalachia and finding all the places I would normally dump my toilet are locked up for the winter. I’m tempted to try an RV dump station, but I’ve never used one before and the written directions online are confusing to me and I’m not clear whether I could dump something that’s basically a big jug into something that seems to be made to take a hose. So things are getting a little desperate with the “black tank” here. I need to happen upon a mentor who can give me a hands-on lesson in using a dump station.

    Also, I was bitten by a brown recluse spider. It put me in the hospital for a week. Traveling with an open wound is making me nervous. And it’s scheduled to be an open wound until somewhere around Christmas. Turns out that recluse bites have a long and painful healing trajectory.

    I’d still rather be out here on the road, working, than cooped up in that apartment I used to live in, languishing with no viable work options. But I’ve definitely hit one of those spells that make regular days so much more golden by comparison.

    • …And I have no experience with a port-potty – yet. That comes in the Spring. But I’ve watched. The rigamarole with RV dumping is made to sound like a rocket launch, but it’s actually simple unless you want to rinse out the tank while it’s still hooked up. If you have a porta-potty, all you do is swivel the neck and try to get it in the hole without spilling any/much. Tip up to empty it. If you have a short rinse hose or one is already at the dump site, so much the better. You just add some water afterward, swish it around, and dump that, too. Repeat if you like. Whatever you have, the goal is to get it all in the hole without splashing it all over. Some dump stations have a projecting pipe coming out of the ground, which makes aiming more critical. The rest are a low hole surrounded by a concrete apron, which makes precision less important. Most stations will have a weighted tipping cover which will need to be blocked open with a rock. Did I miss anything?

      Very sorry to hear about that spider bite. Nasty. A week in the hospital? That has me rethinking my someday grits, biscuit and gravy tour of the Southeast. It may hurt, but you’ll prefer to snap on some latex gloves when you deal with any sewage. I myself use chemically resistant rubber gloves from a hardware store. Looser fit, better grip and much less annoying. Spiders certainly live in apartments too, but it’s location, location, location. Used to work in a clean newish office that had “wolf” spiders that would respond to threats by jumping at you instead of running. Not the best. Please continue to take care of yourself. The other end of the scale will come in its time. I can’t think of anything I know that people would pay money to hear, so my hat’s off to you!

  6. yeouch! and what will they do when it’s time to drive back over the same road to get out of there!!

    Thank you for the commentary, I found it very instructive as well as entertaining. I wouldn’t mind reading more such analyses of terrain and how one would safely negotiate it, especially travelling solo. I have seen other vids on youtube that gave me heart attacks just watching them, but I did not learn much about how to do it except to crawl cautiously in 4WD low, which I don’t have, and I’m missing a few inches of clearance compared to those rigs as well.

    LOL, do all mechanics swear? I used to fix bikes once upon a time, and it kind of just comes out of you. I suspected that bike hubs and brakes were similar to car ones, submerge them and you will be in for a repacking job. I guess that the snorkel is not the only mod needed for stream crossings.

    Have you considered a composting toilet for your FWC? That would save on weight.

    Good luck with healing the spider bite, unstrangemind. It doesn’t sound like fun. I’m a homeopath, so your story is a good reminder for me to add remedies for spider bites to my travel first aid kit when I venture to the southern states in the future. If you can find a homeopath on your travels, they may be able to help you with that.

    • Homeopath. Sounds expensive. We poor folk just wait for nature to run her course.

    • Fortunately, the couple found an alternate way out, which suggests that they – or at least hubby – did not figure that he could do better the second time.

      YouTube often seems to serve as a good instruction of what not to do. The remainder tend to press the limits of what a modified and lifted 4WD can do. The running boards on the Furd are handy in that they will tend to contact first, so I can open the door and look down to see what’s going on for clearance. 2WD drivers mainly need to hesitate before heading into sections with poor traction (wet grass, sand, mud) or those with a lot of twist, without plenty of weight in the bed. Some type of limited slip differential is pretty much mandatory, and tire treads more aggressive than stock are preferable. After that, it comes down to experience, the hope being that you can discern when your vehicle is on the edge and learn from it, instead of by charging in too deep and getting stuck. Running solo, it helps to be more cautious and willing to stop, than adventurous and gung-ho. If the hazard’s resistance is mainly one way, so that a failure is likely to allow you to back out easier than going in, you can do what you like. If not, well… My future accounts with the Intrepid will seem pretty tame in comparison, especially since the photos tend to greatly flatten out what’s ahead, and I have no intention of pressing the limits, whatever they are. Its limits will be much more related to its ground clearance, front and rear overhang, and the exhaust tips on the right side rear. And sheer width. All that engine weight on the front end tends to pull it out of anything, but that might change a bit once the camper is in place and loaded up. 2WD will get you to a lot of places, but it will be your job to chicken out when you have doubts. “When there is doubt, there is no doubt.”

      Snorkels are often employed merely as a macho dress item, never actually used. They are the only visible component of what should be a long list of modifications. Fluids usually need flushing and replacing if submersion is suspected. Remind yourself that all the hi-jinks you see are, except for reckless youth, in accompanied vehicles that are not the driver’s sole means of transport, close to a home base and in familiar territory. Their choices would radically change if these conditions were all removed.

      I have researched composting toilets some time ago, and like them. The principle problem for a pop-up is that they require a sizable vent pipe to the outside roof, not to mention that finding a permanent space to mount one in the FWC would be a challenge. As far as I can find, the only ones that work well vent properly, and must stay in heat conditions that I would find uncomfortable. It’s all about maintaining high rates of evaporation and breakdown. To get around that, a vent pipe fan is used, as well as heater coils. I’d need a big battery bank to do that. Without those, you’re dependent on favorable weather conditions to avoid unpleasant results. If the technology has progressed since then, I’d like to know about it.

      • ah, that sounds more like it, I think I could definitely learn to drive the way that you describe. The 2WD does have an LSD, and better tires will come along eventually. My concern for where I normally camp is that some of the approaches to the forestry campgrounds in BC are kind of rough, and steep. If it’s downhill on the way in, will I be able to get out? Without 4WD, I would have to take a run at it, where my temperament leans much more toward crawling. This is all new to me, as my previous vehicle until very recently was a Honda Fit. I would just look at the access roads and then move on to something easier, therefore missing out on a lot of nice camp spots. I would love to try winter camping too, but I don’t know the limits of what my truck can handle yet.

        The composting toilets that you describe sound like residential ones. I suggest that you check out the boat type, 2 that I have read about are Nature’s Head and C-head. The latter is cheaper and I like the “mixing” action better in the poop tank… I just checked their website again and they now make a churnless model, a bit like what I built for myself (http://www.c-head.com/c-head_news.html). Both models separate the liquid from the solids, so there is no need for heating coils, big fans or vent stacks. I think that you can duct both of them out the side of the camper, and some run them without venting. You also don’t need to mount them permanently. That is certainly the way I plan on going. First with my home made one, then one of the pricier ones when I can afford it. It’s certainly easier to empty the liquids tank daily and solids every week or 2 than emptying a porta potti – lighter, less mess. On mine I haven’t played around much with the solids tank except to test it on a couple of short trips, as I have mostly camped where there were vault toilets since I built mine a year ago so it gets mostly used for nighttime peeing. For longer term usage in the boonies, I imagine that I would be emptying the poop tank into vault toilets that I come across or tossing the bag into the garbage.

        As for the cost of homeopathy, yes you do have to pay the homeopath, as it takes a lot of time studying to find the best remedy, but the remedies are cheap and homeopath+remedies often comes to less than doctor+drugs, with less toxicity to the body. At that point, it becomes personal preference as to which way you go, though it’s my experience that one heals better with homeo. I wish you a steady and uneventful recovery, unstrangemind.

        • Sounds like the thing to do is find similar uphill challenges and get used to them, so that you have half a chance to look at a later descend and be able to accurately judge whether getting out my be a problem. One off-roading mantra I’ve heard is “As slow and possible, and as fast as necessary.” Sounds conflicted, but goes along with my own credo that “Momentum is your friend”. You thankfully won’t match the loaded Furd at 9,000 pounds, and I can tell you that getting it launched from a stop is much more demanding of traction than a slow roll. Winter camping, I’m not optimistic about in 2WD inless you can deliberately add sand bags to the rear somehow. Gravel roads are oodles easier than paved. When I lived in a home with a sealcoated driveway with only a very modest slope, it stumped even 4WD. My advice is to stow away a tow rope and a smile, just in case.

          Thanks very much for the update. The Nature’s Head site seems more accurate about what it can and cannot realistically do, and the results for both are very different than what I had been looking at in that the end result is bottles or jugs of urine, and bags or throwaway buckets of partially composted mulch. A big difference in end product, but more practical in a way for an RV. It does seem like a heap of cash for what is very little improvement over an instant coffee container and a Luggable Loo. BTW, many vault toilets I’ve come across have signs prohibiting waste dumping, for what it’s worth. Proper and convenient disposal will be an issue for me to consider, and the practical gains vs initial cost. I almost never camp in a vaulted campground, so far, as they usually cost money that adds up.

          Given the environmental concerns with harvesting sphagnum peat moss, I think I’d gravitate toward the coconut or coir fiber brick, assuming that buying it was not an insurmountable problem. I see powered venting as pretty much required for daily use, and am loathe to start carving holes through sidewall or roof. But NH mentioned floor venting, which is much more straightforward in my application. I seriously doubt that the FWC front dinette can either stow a unit or permit a dedicated space for one however, but I won’t know that until I inspect my unit later this week and do some cogitating. Might be a moot point – but it is interesting, and I thank you.

          • you’re welcome, and if you do buy one, I will be very happy to read about day to day life with one of them, just like I have enjoyed reading about your e-bike adventures. Do you still use it for grocery shopping? That was one of the original reasons behind your getting one.

            I know that Gone with the Wynns use a NH and love it, but their rig is so huge that positioning and storage of the toilet do not pose the same issues as in your situation. I had a look at the front dinette setup video put out by FWC with you in mind and thought that a compromise system for a composting toilet might be to house it in the porta-potti cabinet and have it on casters or a slider so that you can slide it out for use then slide it back into its home. It may have to be custom made to fit the space available. If the venting flexible pipe could be made long enough and accordion-like enough, it could even be floor vented, or perhaps more easily vented through the back wall of the camper. I find the FWC designed cassette toilet option to take up a lot of room that could be used for storage.

            I buy coco coir bricks for ecological reasons also, and they do store more compactly than bags of peat moss. I think that you must be able to buy them online?

            I wonder about the vault toilet interdictions on dumping poop into something meant for pooping into. It would make sense to keep out porta-potti waste, as chemicals are often used. The poop compartment contains the equivalent of poop+TP (nitrogen and carbon) so should not harm the breakdown of wastes in the vault toilets in my mind unless I misunderstand composting, and I am not above taking a drive through a campsite containing one just to dump some waste… theoretically. I’ve never done that yet.

            • Reminder for other readers: the goal for the e-bike was to minimize local errand mileage on the diesel pickup truck as much as possible, since it is basically irreplaceable. I figured the cross-country mileage far outstripped local errands, but that turned out not to be the case. Right now, the 18-mile distance to Yuma is beyond my ability (not the bike’s) to manage it, and I have so far not been able to locate a workable path, since I’m not gonna commit suicide on I-8. However, I am frequently using the bike and trailer to haul laundry, garbage bags and such around the park, and have just scouted what few local supplies are available in town. As in Pioche NV, leashing dogs here in Wellton AZ seems to be aberrant behavior, so I’ll be touring and going for what local supplies are available on the Aurora, equipped with basic defensive measures.

              I haven’t come across much at all on the front dinette model, and what cabinetry I’ve seen ruled out a floor-level slide-out without butchery. I’ll get a better idea of options when I see it on Thursday.

              As far as I can guess, the issue with using a vault toilet as a dump station is as much human behavior-related as chemical potential. When I was checking out mascerators for use with the Tankmin, some users would comment on how far uphill the unit could pump waste from their holding tank into a vault toilet. Since a vault toilet is not a dump station, capacity is limited and pump-out costs rise. If asked, Rangers will say dumps any bigger than one serving at a time are a no-no. I sincerely doubt that a quantity dump consisting of pristine eco-poop would be viewed any more approvingly than the bleached, formaldehyded septic killers that clean freaks create. It’s more an issue of what the vault toilets were designed for in that campground, sized to the number of spaces there, and of keeping the rules real simple and free of qualifiers. That’s why I’ll be looking at exactly how I’ll be disposing of each system’s waste – trash, grey, and black. I really don’t like timing and hunting down costly dumpsites, but neither do I like sneaking my waste into places they really shouldn’t be taken and left, as I consider a situation. It’s a personal choice. Problems caused by campers, whether on retail property or public property, lead to problems or expenses that someone is left to deal with, and that encourages new rules and restrictions. I don’t want to knowingly contribute to that, and return the next year to find new signage up or closed facilities in reaction. Not the easiest attitude to have to live with, because it sometimes crimps options, and the Intrepid may need options that the Defiant does not.

              • A friend of mine says “baby poop and dog poop are required to be bagged and tossed in the trash. Gross, but accepted socially and legally.” I don’t think adult human poop differs from that of dogs and babies in any significant way other than volume, and not even that in the case of BIG dogs.

                So, she bags and trashes hers, but only when there is no public toilet available. When there is, she uses it. And since she prefers camping in areas well away from people, she uses cat-holes whenever possible.

                Here’s what the Forest Service has to say about it:

                (begin quote) Human Waste: The proper disposal of human waste is important. For the benefit of those who follow, you must not contaminate the water. Fortunately, nature has provided a system of very efficient biological “disposers” to decompose fallen leaves, branches, dead animals, and animal droppings in the top 6-8 inches of soil. The individual “cat hole” method, used by most experienced backpackers, is recommended.

                Dealing with Solid Waste Disposal (the “cat hole” method):

                1. Select a screened, well-drained spot at least 200 feet from any water or trail.
                2. Use a lightweight plastic trowel to dig a hole 6-8 inches across and 6-8 inches deep. Try to remove the sod, if any, in one piece.
                3. After use, refill the hole with the loose soil, and then replace the sod. Nature will do the rest in a few days.
                4. The cat method is unnecessary for urination; however, urinate well away from trails and water sources.
                5. Use areas that are well-hidden, but try to avoid vegetation because the acidity of urine can affect plant growth.
                6. If you are traveling in a group, consider a latrine to reduce impact.
                7. Consider bagging and packing out toilet paper. This is essential to prevent sanitation problems from heavy visitation, and some areas require it.
                8. Tampons must be bagged and carried out or burned in a very hot fire. Never bury tampons because animals will dig them up. (end quote)

                “Nature will do the rest in a few days.” This is music to my ears.

              • Excellent research, Dawn. I think that the only “approved” camping bags are special and costly double-sealed ones made for that purpose, but you’d go broke living that way, and quickly. Point taken, and good, helpful work.

            • ah, that makes sense now. No, I agree that outhouses are not meant for pumping out a black tank!

              Re: plastic bagging and trashing adult poop with the composting method – you would be housing several poops in one bag, reducing how many bags you put in the trash, and it would contain a favorable ratio of carbon to nitrogen for faster decomposition. One could also use compostable bags.

              You could bury it also, sans bag.

              Cat holes are great, unless you are caught short and don’t have time, in which case having a back-up toilet is good. How do I know this… πŸ™‚

              • Hahaha, well, of course, I would always have an appropriate container available for those emergencies…

              • Because of that potential to discard a kitchen bag only every now and then, I’m kinda hoping that the FWC will allow me the quasi-composting option in preference of digging holes (sometimes prevented by the terrain), hunting for dump stations with a porta-potty, or discarding a mass of separate bags that contain raw sewage from a Luggable Loo. I see the urine bottle option as fairly adaptable to most places and situations (that I’ve been to). Then there’s the greywater/washwater issue that is “legal” but not everywhere. Apart from the contents, it’s a thought-provoking puzzle!

  7. Just fell on this blog today, and as a fellow mobilelifestyler/societydropout/?aspie whose read all of one of your posts (but the site looks awesome, and worthy of further perusal), I’ve hit the “follow” button. Just thought I’d say Hi!

    • Thank you so much! I’ve read some of your blog and are envious of your unique abilities to word conversationally with humor, as well as your subject choices. But I can’t seem to find anything to subscribe with! Great reading. I’m adding you to my recommended reading list, which on reflection, may actually work against you, but there you go. Should your readership decrease, let me know and I’ll pull your link. πŸ˜‰ Hope you enjoy reading on, and perhaps reinforce your earlier decision not to jam the two of you into a tiny Four Wheel camper.

      Update: I just tripped over the subscribe link, so I’m good to go! It’s just not on the home page.

Leave a Reply! Note that all first-time comments are moderated, so there will be a delay before it will be posted.

